Book reviews

REVIEW: Sarah J. Maas, “A Court of Thorns and Roses”

book-review_20170409230327343

A Court of Thorns and Roses
by Sarah J. Maas

32801301

Rating: ★★★★★
Goodreads | Livelib
Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes &Noble
Published: May 5th, 2015 (2016 for Russian edition)
Format: eBook (Russian edition), Paperback (original)

Synopsis: When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever. (cr.: Goodreads)

about-author

Sarah J. Maas is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series, as well as the A Court of Thorns and Roses series.

Sarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she’s not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion. (cr.: Goodreads)

about-the-book

A Court of Thorns and Roses is the first book in the series of the same name, followed by A Court of Mist and Fury (released May 3rd, 2016), and A Court of Wings and Ruin (will be released on May 2nd, 2017). It’s partially a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, later turned into an independent fantasy book series.

reviewOh gosh. How can I even put all those feels into words? WHAT IS A WORD.

I didn’t expect the book to be THIS good! As you know, I’m not really fond of romance fantasies due to reasons listed when I ranted on Russian fantasy, but Sarah J. Maas successfully turned a simple romance story into a part of cruel political and personal games. Crushing someone’s soul into mere sand? Oh gosh, DONE. Another obstacle that promises you to be even more challenging and merciless? JUST WAIT FOR THAT. How many days will it take for me to read A Court of Mist and Fury? Not less than 10 days, I think (I’m still a slow reader here!). And then we can all die upon A Court of Wings and Ruin release. BTW, I already pre-ordered an ACOWAR book box from Donna @mark.the.page, so I can’t wait until May (or in my case, probably closer to June…)!

So, back to reviewing the book. It was a bit hard for me to get past first two chapters because of hideous Russian translation (seriously, translator, have you even studied Russian? What the heck is this copycat sentence construction?), but when everything finally stabilized, I got so hooked onto the plot I spent nights to read this piece of awesomeness! I ended up finishing this book on a fifth night at 3:30 a.m.-ish!

It was sometimes really cringey to read, because, like I mentioned, I’m not a fan of romance fantasies, but I still liked it, despite the fact that, probably love line here was still one of two main points of this book. At least, it wasn’t solemnly on love! I wouldn’t stand another Romeo and Juliette, really (I hate that story). The good thing with this love line is that it wasn’t an insta-love! If it was, I would put down the book immediately without further interest. But here we move from love-centered plot to a more fun game (the hunger gaaaaames), a politics game which I partially love.

Characters. Did I tell you that I love sassy characters? *coughLUCIENcough* I loved the interaction between Feyre, Tamlin and Lucien right before the love thingy between Feyre and Tamlin started. Oh, I wish it stayed as an awesome sassy trio friends that sass the hell out of each other! More, mooooore sassiness in books, please! ‘Cause we all low-key know we’re FABULOUS. Erm, I’m sorry. 😀

The Rhysand hype is still awaiting me, but I’m having a strong feeling I’m gonna join that fanclub very, very soon. Dark, angsty characters? Yup, I’m in! Dark, angsty character involved in angsty one-sided relationship with an already taken and/or difficult character? I’M SOLD GUYS. Like, you didn’t know that I ship Snape/Lily, Winter/Jacin, Dante/Scarlet??? So I really can’t wait to read ACOMAF to see what happens next! And I already committed a sin by opening ACOTAR wikia and reading almost all spoilers possible. Oh well, I’m so impatient.

World building. I. LOVED. EVERY. PIECE. OF. IT. I need a wall-size map of Prythian. And Hogwarts, and every other fantasy location that has an official map I’m suck a sucker for well-developed fiction worlds, I could possibly talk about them all day, every day. Tell you a secret: I’m still able to professionally talk about Fullmetal Alchemist world One of those newly discovered world that I would love to be in! But I won’t choose a Court right now, because I still need to read ACOMAF. I know how hard it is to build a completely new world with its own rules, regulations, laws that run the whole system, I always feel overwhelmed when I see a properly built fiction world.

Overall: a book series that is completely worth all that hype, passion, and craziness happening in bookstagram world. I can’t wait to join you when we all cry over ACOWAR! Although I’ll probably be late as usual. That is such a struggle for an international book blogger.

lets-chat

Have you read ACOTAR Saga yet? If you’re currently reading it, which book are you on? Do you share some of my opinions? Or we can clash here for the joy of Amarantha? 😀

See you soon, probably in an unstable state due to book’s awesomeness,
sign

Make sure to find me on InstagramTwitterFacebook, and Goodreads.
7 thoughts on “REVIEW: Sarah J. Maas, “A Court of Thorns and Roses””

  1. Hey you should read Throne of Glass (if you haven’t already). It has a more complex world that’s just as great as ACOTAR’S world, if not better 😉 – it’s 6 books! (not including novellas…hopefully that don’t scare you).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t yet, and actually I don’t know if I ever get to that book series, but judging from what you said, I think I’ll give it a try! Since 4 of 6 books have been already translated to Russian, I might consider… Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your writing makes me so excited for the third book to come out already! I want to tell you so many things but I’ll keep them to myself. Their are SOME cringey moments in the second book to do with romance but it’s towards the end so who cares? It’ll be funny to see your reaction to the second book. Less than 10 days is not acceptable! I ate that thing up right away. Have fun reading 😀

    P.S. You will so join the Rhysand fandom.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Don’t spit all the spoilers here! Although I’m not really allergic to spoilers, but knowing way too much in advance would kill all my wishes to read the book, and I’ve already spoiled enough!
      Will be cautions at the second half of the book then, thanks for warning!
      Well, not less than 10 days is my actual estimating reading time because Englishhhhhhh. It’s not my first language, and constant language changes when reading a book series is giving me helllll. Why did I even start reading ACOTAR in Russian… BUT THAT’S EASIER FOR ME TO GET HOOKED.

      Like

I'd love to hear your opinions!

