Outside the Book Nook

My photo collection

outside-the-book-nook

Hi! Erm…
Sorry I suddenly disappeared from both Instagram and WordPress. Sometime you just cannot help but have those gloomy times when you don’t want to do anything at all.
Well, yeah, you can’t say so about me judging from the amount of K-pop rant I recently have on my twitter though (and I’m really sorry for that, but I decided to abandon my personal twitter account and merge everything happening onto the bookish one, so if you don’t want to see me spamming your feed with K-pop related tweets (like EVERYTIME EVERYWHERE), feel free to unfollow). But still.

Also as I don’t have much to share on bookish world (I’m being on a reading slump again, torn between three books, actually), neither I have topics I can brainstorm on (suggestions are welcomed!), so how about a little bit of photography?

I can’t say that I’m really good at photography, but there are some shots I really love and feel very proud of. I never studied photography professionally, only just enough to understand basics and to handle my Nikon D3200. I will give some commentaries under photos, as like under what conditions I took this photo, or what I liked about this shot particularly. Mostly all pics are already edited with VSCO Cam.

Hope you can enjoy it as well!

Half-moon ★

DSC_0032

Astrophotography was the main reason I purchased a DSLR camera. Although I already expanded my interests to landscape and portraits (and bookstagram lol), but I still try to remind myself where I started from.

separator

Sunset Glowing series ★

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I specifically love this photo series. Sunset happens to be my favorite time of the day (followed by late night), the photos were taken in my preferable color tones, plus it was when I first tested the 55-200mm Nikkor lenses I purchased. I was lucky enough to get such a beautiful sunset in Vungtau city to capture on my camera.

separator

★ Moments of Life series ★

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These pictures were taken the same day with Sunset Glowing, and I also grew fond of them, especially the one with the bird wing. It might seem controversial of me to take a picture of a dead one (yes, that was indeed a dead bird there /sigh/) and do what seem to be an appraisal of death, but I always thought differently. Death is inevitable, and no one can escape that, so there’s no point in sugar-coating this.

separator

★ My Grandmother 2015-09-05-09.30v2

Can you believe that she is 97 this year? Although I don’t contact her as regularly as I should’ve been, my grandmother always had a special place in my heart. I adore her so much, and the thought of her soon leaving us makes me feel ultimately sad. She was always kind towards me, even when I wasn’t acting any good to her.
This picture was taken two years ago, upon my grandma’s own request. And I keep thinking that this might be the last picture of her I’ve ever taken with my camera.

separator

★ Random scenery ★

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These pictures were taken at different times and at different places. Starting from the photo of yellow house and blue sky these shots were taken: Malaysia’s Melaka city (2014), Dalat city‘s Flower park (2014), Hanoi city‘s Turtle Tower at Hoan Kiem Lake (2015), Ho Chi Minh city‘s Ciao Cafe (2015), Ho Chi Minh city‘s view from my sister’s apartment in District 2 (2015)

separator

★ People of Saigon ★

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m especially very fond of this photo collection taken back in 2015. All of them were taken with 55-200 mm Nikkor lens, which could question the appropriation of “secretly taking photos” of people, and, to be honest, I still question myself if that’s okay to secretly take pictures of random people on the streets. The point is, if you want raw emotions and expressions, the photos should be spontaneous, and sometimes sneaking is the only way to guarantee that. Sometimes I want to take one of these photos and write a short story. Maybe I will in the future.

interaction

It’s been a while since I’ve taken my camera out just to capture something raw and natural, since I’ve been busy with work and literally had no time to carry a huge bag out for that reason + currently it’s a rainy season, and I definitely don’t want to destroy my precious camera. But I hope soon I’ll grab an opportunity to take more pictures.

Hope you enjoyed this little journey to my vision of the world~

I will comeback with bookish content soon, I think. Currently I’m reading two books, and I hope I can get hold of my initial ambitions from when I only started this blog.

Love you all,
sign

Make sure to find me on InstagramTwitterFacebook, and Goodreads.

 

4 thoughts on “My photo collection”

I'd love to hear your opinions!

